top of page

Review: No Chance by Lisa Suzanne



About the Book

The screaming fans in the crowd are proof the world loves Brett Pitzer, but I hate him. Those women lusting after him as he bangs on his drums have this fantasy of one night with him. He granted that dream to my sister, except he left her with a baby to raise on her own.


She couldn’t tell him about their boy, but with her life on the line the same night he’s back in town, I have no choice.


It’ll be an uphill battle trying to get in touch with this partying rock star who’s nothing like me, but after tragedy strikes, he’s the only biological parent my nephew has left.


I’ll do whatever it takes to protect the baby and give him the future he deserves, even if it means traveling on a tour bus with a man I can’t stand so I can be a nanny to his son. After all, I’m all my nephew knows, and he’s the only chance I have left.



Review

No Chance is the second book in the Capital Kingsmen series. I did not read the first and I had no problem reading it as a standalone. It kept me engaged, but I had mixed feelings about it in the end.


I liked the heroine, Hannah, though I felt she was too forgiving towards the end. She was kind, caring and so good with little Chance. Where I wavered was my like and dislike of Brett. I enjoyed how Hannah and Brett's relationship initially began to develop, but when it began to hit the bumps in the road, I started enjoying Brett's character less. We were given some history to explain why he behaved in certain ways and why he's so jaded, but I didn't think there was enough depth to his character or exploration of his background, to really feel for him or to help further understand his actions. He just came off as a jerk sometimes. I also felt that the connection built between him and his child wasn't strong enough. His emotional attachment didn't feel sincere.

There were a few other things that bugged me towards the end that sort of left me on the fence about him, therefore I wasn't totally enamored with their relationship by the final chapter.


In the end, I think I enjoyed the first half of this book more than the second. That aside, I would still read another if the series were to continue.



*TW/CW: Overdose; car accident; death


**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.



Get A Copy



About the Author

Lisa Suzanne is a romance author who resides in Arizona with her husband and two kids. She’s a former high school English teacher and college composition instructor. When she's not chasing or cuddling her kids, she can be found working on her latest book or watching reruns of Friends.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page