top of page

New Release Review: Delicate Promises by Kelly Elliott


Delicate Promises by Kelly Elliott is now LIVE! This is the second book in the small-town romance series, Southern Bride. Each series title can be read and enjoyed as a standalone novel.

Check out the blurb and my review below.

Happy Reading!

༺❃༻

B l u r b :

*As found on Goodreads At eighteen-years-old, I made a promise with my best friend in high school. If neither one of us were married by age thirty, we would marry each other. Now Miles Warner is back in town and wants to cash in on that promise we made all those years ago.

The fact that Miles is still unmarried and single baffles me. The young man I remembered from high school has grown into one of the most handsome men I’ve ever laid eyes on. And he refuses to take no for an answer. You see, he needs a bride, and I’m his last resort. Romantic, isn’t it?

Well, no thank you. That is not going to happen.

At least that’s what I keep telling myself. But as the days pass by and Miles settles back into life in our hometown, I find myself falling head over heels in love with him. Again.

What is the lesson I’ve learned, you ask?

Never make a promise you don’t intend to keep.

B u y L i n k s : Amazon US Amazon Universal Apple Books, B&N, Kobo ➙ https://books2read.com/u/bowYjV

Add to your TBR ➙ https://bit.ly/2Z6O5ac

R e v i e w :

Delicate Promises is the second book in its series, but the first I have read. In fact, this is the first book I've ever read by author Kelly Elliott. It read easily as a standalone novel, and I was drawn in by the cute friends-to-lovers storyline. I really enjoyed the sweet friendship between the main characters, Miles and Kynslee. It was easy to tell early on that although they didn't say it, their love for each other was more than friendly. I really felt for them when they parted ways at eighteen, him joining the Marines and her going away for school. The timeline then jumped to just over a decade later, and the story was set up for a second chance romance. Unfortunately, I found the characters didn't feel true to their age and it made it difficult to connect to them at this point. I expected a higher level of maturity from two thirty-year-olds, but they behaved more like people in their late teens to early twenties. There was a lot of miscommunication, holding back feelings, deciding what's best for the other person, and a general back and forth back and forth dynamic. It got frustrating and repetitive. When Miles and Kynslee did get past some bumps in the road and finally got on the same page, even though they came across as young adults still, I enjoyed their courtship and I was rooting for those friends turned lovers to make it. In the end, Delicate Promises was a satisfactory story. A nice way to kill a few hours of the day but not a reading journey I'd take again.

**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page