top of page

Review: Unexpected Reality by Kaylee Ryan


Unexpected Reality by Kaylee Ryan

Original Release Date: July 12, 2016

*NOW available in Audio format as of October 2019!

Series: Unexpected Arrivals, Book #1 (Interconnected Standalones)

Genre: New Adult/Contemporary Romance

༺❃༻

Blurb:

Expect the unexpected. That's what they say, but it's easier said than done.

How do you expect a change so huge it rocks you to your core?

How do you prepare yourself for an event that will alter your life forever?

One breath One second One minute One hour One day at a time, you learn to live with your unexpected reality.

༺❃༻

Purchase Links: Amazon US Amazon UK Kobo iBooks

Add to Goodreads

༺❃༻

My Review: First of all, that cover is seriously heart-melting. On top of that, the blurb is vague but enticing. It was obvious once I read it and saw the cover that the main character's "unexpected reality" would involve a baby, but I had no idea what else to expect within the pages of the book. What I got was a mix of sweet and swoony moments, with an entertaining but somewhat predictable plot.

I started this series at book #2, then I read #3, so I wanted to go back to find out just how Ridge got together with his love in the series starter. I loved seeing how Ridge fully embraced Fatherhood and adapted to his new life. He faced it head on, and though there were many times he struggled and tried to do things all on his own, he never gave up, he learned to accept the help of his family and brothers (friends).

The romantic relationship that bloomed during this time between him and the heroine felt like it progressed at a reasonable pace and the attraction between the characters was there, but something was missing. That deep connection didn't shine through for me. I didn't become fully invested in their relationship.

There weren't a lot of surprises as the story unfolded. That said, there was one reveal involving the birth mom that threw me for a loop. It felt highly coincidental and a little unnecessary, but I suppose it added a little shock drama.

In the end I'm glad I went back to read Unexpected Reality. It was entertaining enough to keep me engaged but I didn't quite fall in love with the story.

*I've refrained from using the heroines name in my review to avoid spoiling who it is for someone who has yet to read the story.*

**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

༺❃༻

Author Bio: Kaylee Ryan has had a passion for reading since she was a little girl. That passion has slowly led to spinning romantic tales, and a one-click addiction. When she doesn’t have her nose stuck in her kindle or fingers glued to the keyboard, you can find Kaylee hanging out with friends and family. She loves all genres of music, and enjoys scrapbooking. She lives in Ohio with her husband (her real life happily ever after) and their rambunctious little boy.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page