top of page

New Release Review: Down Too Deep by J. Daniels


Two single parents and three adorable kids are about to have a summer they'll never forget in this heartwarming new novel.

Down Too Deep, book four in the Dirty Deeds series by New York Times bestselling author J. Daniels is available now in stores and online.

Check out my review below and browse through the official release packet, hosted by Wildfire Marketing Solutions.

🌹.•°*°•.🌹

Review:

I love the single parent trope right now. Love. Love. Love it. So, when I heard that the next Dirty Deeds series novel was a DOUBLE single parent book, I was all the more eager to read it. Down Too Deep told the story of Jenna, a single mother of 8 year old twins, and Nate, a widower and father of a two year old girl. When I read a romance novel involving single parents I not only have to find a connection between the prospective couple, but between each character and their potential partner's child(ren) as well. Daniels was successful in creating a believable bond between all parties and children in this story. I felt each character made an effort to get to know the other's child(ren) and grew to genuinely care for them. On the other hand, I did find that there was a lot more time spent with the parents and children together as a unit, and not quite enough time spent strengthening the romantic courtship separately. I felt Nate and Jenna had good chemistry and I did root for them, but I hoped for deeper connection and development. Something that did bother me was the way Nate compared his love for his late wife, to his growing feelings for Jenna. Unfortunately, I find this happens a lot in romance novels involving death of a spouse. When one character is a widow(er) and the relationship between them and their late spouse is minimized in order to make the current romantic pairing seem more meaningful, I find it distasteful and unnecessary. When characters say things like, "I've never felt this before, not even with (insert name)" it's belittling their love. It's okay for them to love their new partner just as grandly in a different way and for different reasons! That aside, I was satisfied with the reading experience overall. Down Too Deep was a cute and sweet story that I easily read all in one cozy afternoon.

*Complimentary copy for review provided by Forever Romance. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.*

**Trigger Warning: Suicide**

Book Release Information:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page