top of page

New Release Review: Hard Truth by Emily Goodwin


Hard Truth, the anticipated finale in the Hard Love duet is here.

Find all important release related info below, including my review!

༺❃༻

Blurb:

*As provided by the author

The first time I met Alexander Harding, I yelled at him for taking my parking spot. Rich and powerful, I saw him as nothing more than my new cold-hearted boss. I hated him once but now…now things aren’t that simple. There’s a man beneath the beast, and the more I get to know him, the more I fall in love with him.

Though just as I’m able to envision a future together, the past comes back to haunt us both.

Six years ago, my life changed forever when I found out I was pregnant. The last thing I expected was to see Michael Cooper again, but now he’s here and is ready to make up for lost time. He wants to be involved in his daughters’ life. My life. And it’s making me question everything.

I never thought it was possible to be in love with two men at the same time. One from my past, and one I want in my future. My heart is completely torn in two, with each half going in a different direction. I’d give them each half if I could.

But then I would be left with nothing. One-click today- Amazon: https://amzn.to/2nJMo1l Amazon Universal: mybook.to/HardTruthEGAU Make sure to add this to your Goodreads TBR: http://bit.ly/2nczuc9

Review:

After that cliffhanger ending in Hard Place, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the second book in the Hard Love duet. Hard Truth started out strong, easily pulling me back into Harper and Alex's lives...only this time, a third party became part of their story- Michael, the father of Harper's twin girls. I eagerly turned the pages with a strong desire to find out what Emily had in store for these characters. The story began with a chapter in the past (six years ago), in Michael's point of view. It was here that I got a good look at the dynamic between Harper and Michael. The connection between them after only one night together was strong, and in that one chapter, I could see why they made an impact on each other. However, it didn't quite translate into present time. I never saw the rebirth or further growth of that initial connection. It seemed as though Harper didn't love Michael himself per se, only what he represented and the overall idea of him. Being with him meant she was part of a "traditional family" and she wouldn't have to be apart from her girls ever. I could see how that made her feel it might be better to try with him, but other than that I really struggled to understand why her feelings were torn. That aside, Michael was a nice, stand up guy- almost too good to be true. It was easy to like his character, to want to know more about him as he got to know his girls. Still, I rooted for Alex because that's who I felt was truly meant to be with Harper. It was him who had that extra special spark with her. Alex continued to grow in this book, and come to terms with his feelings. Slowly the layers were being peeled back on his character and his vulnerable side was shown as he opened himself up fully to Harper. The dialogue between those two was fun and natural. I absolutely loved the witty banter and flirtation. There was an additional stalker subplot involving Harper and Max- the creep neighbour- that I felt was unnecessary, and failed to add anything to the story overall; it didn't aid in driving the main plot forward. There was enough conflict between the characters and their circumstances without the addition of this subplot. There was definitely a lot of back and forth tension with Harper not knowing what man she truly wanted in Hard Truth. If you crave angst, you'll definitely find some between these pages. I won't say whether or not I was satisfied with the conclusion to the story, because I don't want to spoil whether Harper ends up with Alex or Michael. I'm sure it's clear from my review that I found the author created a stronger, more believable connection between Harper and Alex, but you'll have to check out the book to find out if that's the direction Harper's heart leads her!

**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page