top of page

New Release Review: Hard Place by Emily Goodwin


Happy Release Day to Emily Goodwin ♥

Hard Place, part one in the all-new contemporary romance series, Hard to Love, is available now.

The story features a few great tropes, one of them being my current favourite- the single parent trope. I don't know why, but I love it!!

Add Hard Place your Goodreads TBR today or visit Emily's website here to purchase a copy.

Take a look at the blurb and my review below.

Enjoy!

༺❃༻

B L U R B : *Provided by the author

Cold. Callous. Cocky.

A total playboy with abs for days, a panty-melting smirk, and a face the gods themselves would be jealous of.

And he’s my new boss.

None of that matters, because as a single mom, men like Alexander Harding are the last thing I need. What I do need is this job, so I’m going to keep my head down, work hard, and avoid that asshole as much as humanly possible.

But then he gives me an offer I can’t refuse, even though everything inside of me is warning me to run away and never look back.

It’s just one weekend.

One weekend to convince a bunch of stuffy investors that Alexander has changed from the player who spent more time in the bedroom than the boardroom into a family man they’d be happy to go into business with.

But the more time I spend with him, the more I realize that there might be a beating heart buried under his designer shirts and spectacular pecs after all…which is bad news for me.

Because the only thing worse than hating your boss is falling in love with him.

R E V I E W :

Hard Place was flirty, humorous, and just the slightest bit angsty. It featured some of the following popular romance tropes: Enemies-to-lovers Office Romance Strong single Mom Fake relationship If you enjoy any or all of those tropes, you do not want to miss this charming read. Emily really brought her characters to life. She gave them strengths, weaknesses, fears, flaws, and clear personalities. Harper was a lovable and relatable heroine. She was quirky, kind and caring in nature, and was an amazing Mother. Alex started off as a total cocky asshole, but we began to see different layers to his character as Harper got to know him a little better. We got to know more of the real Alex and I grew to love him as I got further into the story. As a pair, Alex and Harper had a great dynamic. I loved the back and forth playfulness. Their silly bantering was entertaining and just the overall cuteness of their interactions made it really easy to root for their relationship to shift and grow. Their romance was a sweet, slow burn, but all that build up was so worth it when they finally gave in to their feelings. And just when you thought things were headed in the right direction, a shocking surprise is thrown in their path, and you're left wondering- just where do they go from here? Emily Goodwin's new series is off to a promising start and I'm eager to find out how the story will continue in book two!!

**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page