top of page

New Release Review: It's Not Over by Kaylee Ryan and Lacey Black


Today on the blog we have the release blitz with review for It's Not Over, a new standalone novel by author duo Kaylee Ryan and Lacey Black.

It's Not Over is a contemporary romance and it falls within the second chance and surprise pregnancy trope. The book is now available to purchase on Amazon, and will also be available on B&N, Kobo, and Apple Books for a limited time.

Read my review below, then scroll through the release package to take a look at all release related info.

Happy reading!

༺❃༻

M Y T H O U G H T S :

I've read many of Kaylee Ryan's published books but this is my introduction to Lacey Black. It's Not Over is their first co-authored novel and their writing styles blended well together. The main characters are Gwen (aka Winnie) and Harrison. Winnie is a kind and caring woman. Harrison is a faithful and very protective (ex)husband. They love each other but seem to have lost their way and find themselves signing on the dotted lines of their divorce papers. Almost immediately, Harrison wants Winnie to know that it's (as in they're) not over, and he won't stop until he proves it to her. I felt the characters should have been separated for a lot longer than they were to make their reunion more impactful. I liked the couple and thought they were sweet, but I really missed that angst and tension I desire and have come to expect from a second chance type romance. Part of the plot conflict seemed unnecessary as well, and the antagonist lacked a real believable motivation. This specific subplot could have been removed from the novel- in my opinion- and the story could have carried forward with everything else that was going on and still been enjoyable. Overall, It's Not Over was a satisfactory read. I enjoyed the tenderness and love between the couple and their desire to make things work but I felt the initial conflict and the climax point needed some adjustment.

**Complimentary copy for review provided by the author. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

R E L E A S E I N F O :

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page