top of page

New Release Review: Boys That Tease by Betti Rosewood


Boys That Tease, a new YA/NA romance by author Betti Rosewood, is available now. Below you can find the book blurb (as found on Goodreads), followed by my full thoughts and opinions on the execution of the story. If you'd like to know more about the author, visit her website here.

༺❃༻

B L U R B :

𝑾𝒆'𝒓𝒆 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒏𝒈. 𝑷𝒓𝒊𝒗𝒊𝒍𝒆𝒈𝒆𝒅. 𝑫𝒊𝒓𝒕𝒚. 𝑨𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒆 𝒓𝒖𝒊𝒏 𝒍𝒊𝒗𝒆𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒇𝒖𝒏. She knew being the new girl at Wildwood would never be easy, considering who she is. But nobody warned Tinsley Sullivan we'd be doing everything in our power to make her high school experience one of the most horrible times of her life. They say my name like I'm their king. 𝐶𝑟𝑖𝑠𝑝𝑖𝑛 𝐷𝑎𝑙𝑡𝑜𝑛. Teachers and students worship the ground I walk on. They all follow my lead... Except for ℎ𝑒𝑟. I didn't think she'd have it in her to fight back. It's kind of adorable that she won't budge, refusing to break for me, to submit to my cruel desires. Except I'll never stop pushing for more. I'm ready to make her life so miserable, she'll be begging me to stop hurting her. There's just one thing that's messing it all up. Tinsley is off-f*cking-limits. And I need to keep that in mind when I kiss my girlfriend... her best friend.

ADD TO GOODREADS:

http://bit.ly/BoysThatTeaseTBR

༺❃༻

R E V I E W :

Boys That Tease is the first novel in an interconnected series. While I found it interesting enough to read to the end, this was solely because I wanted to find out what would happen between the two main characters- Tinsley and Crispin. The story as a whole was rough and choppy; it lacked proper direction and flow. Too many side plots were introduced and they felt sort of out of place and thrown in for dramas sake. I.e -Lords of Wildwood- who are they really? What's their significance? -Mystery of the missing student, Pandora. Where is she? Who's hiding something? -Weird chat room. Who is Guest and what is really going on there? Baby- Why is she important to the story? The author really just scratched the surface with these with no in depth explanation or exploration. I'm sure certain things will be revealed or explained further as the series goes on, but as it stands, these side plots lacked enough development to have me invest or really care as to what the outcome might be. In the end, I felt there was too much going on and too many questions were left unanswered. On a positive note, the author created a believable villain. You couldn't help but hate Estella. She was schemy, self absorbed, manipulative, and just plain mean. As for the main characters, Tinsley was kind and sweet, and though she was naive and lacked a backbone at times, I rooted for her character. She and Crispin has good chemistry and I enjoyed the push and pull enemies-to-lovers vibe between them. I was not a fan of the 'bully' aspect though. The hate and the way Crispin treated (or had people treat) Tinsley sometimes did not scream love or even like to me. It took me a while to warm to his character, but I did get to understand him and his motivations a bit when in his POV. Unfortunately by the end, I didn't grow to really love all the characters or story enough to continue on, so I will not be reading the rest of the series. Bully romances are rising in popularity right now though, so if you love the trope or are intrigued by it, you might enjoy the dynamic between Tinsley and Crispin, and you might love the start to this series. Check it out for yourself.

**Complimentary copy for review provided by The Next Step PR. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page