top of page

New Release Review: Trust the Push by Kaylee Ryan


Trust the Push is not the first book I have read by Kaylee Ryan, but it is one of maybe four romantic fiction novels I've read about professional racing. The theme was intriguing, and the storyline and characters provided satisfying entertainment for the short time it took me to read the book. The romance gives off a bit of an enemies-to-lovers or hate-to-love feel at first, with the hero being extra resistant to the heroines presence and acting all sorts of a-holey and rude. I will admit, it did take me some time to warm up to Blaine. I wasn't a huge fan of his jerky reactions just because he was attracted to/distracted by Aubree and needed to "stay focused". Eventually though, as they interacted more and the author explored their personalities a little more thoroughly, he grew on me. I began to enjoy their push and pull energy, and I felt the attraction growing between them and their connection strengthening the more time they spent together. It was at this point that I was able to root for them. There was one section that I felt was lacking, and that was the climax point; it felt like an afterthought. Something that was written in to add temporary conflict and angst. I didn't feel as though there was any buildup to this point, or significant hints along the way that would lead me to believe that this was even a possibility. To avoid spoiling exactly what happens, I'm being vague, but bottom line, I was a tad underwhelmed by the push that finally solidified the relationship and feelings that had been blossoming between the main characters. Still, I was engaged for the majority of the story. I would gladly revisit the world Ms. Ryan has created should one on the secondary characters have a story written for themselves. Each team/family member had their own interesting personality. I enjoyed the tight knit bond and the general dynamic within the group as a whole. So, if you're looking for a quick romantic read set in the world of racing, check out Trust the Push.

*Complimentary copy provided by the author. All opinions and ratings expressed here are honest and entirely my own.

**For more information about the release- including the blurb, book trailer, and a giveaway- continue reading on and scroll through the release packet below!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page