top of page

Review: The Woman in the Dark by Vanessa Savage


A B O U T T H E B O O K :

A chilling psychological thriller about dark family dysfunction and the secrets that haunt us - perfect for fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

For Sarah and Patrick, family life has always been easy. But when Sarah's mother dies, it sends Sarah into a downwards spiral. Knowing they need a fresh start, Patrick moves the family to the beachside house he grew up in.

But there is a catch: while their new home carries only happy memories for Patrick, to everyone else it's known as the Murder House - named for the family that was killed there.

Patrick is adamant they can make it perfect again, though with their children plagued by nightmares and a constant sense they're being watched, Sarah's not so sure. Because the longer they live in their 'dream home', the more different her loving husband becomes . . .

R E V I E W :

I was intrigued by The Woman in the Dark the minute I read the plotline. As I read the story, I remained engaged with every passing chapter. Even with the minor things that did not work for me entirely, not once did I want to set the book aside. It was a dark and twisted story. An eerie tale that had me constantly trying to figure out if the mystery and strange happenings were supernatural in nature, or the act of a psycho lurking in the shadows. Many times I asked myself, is this a psychological thriller, or paranormal suspense fiction? I enjoyed the thrill of not knowing; of being unsure. As The Woman in the Dark begins, we are introduced to the Walker family. Patrick and his wife, Sarah, and their two teenagers, Mia and Joe. After Sarah’s-assumed- suicide attempt, Patrick convinces her to purchase his childhood home using the money she inherited from her mother after her death. He’s painted a picture of happiness when speaking of his memories and upbringing in this house, and he feels that this will be a fresh new beginning for the family. This might sound like an okay idea, only, the family that lived in the home after her husband’s parents had to sell it, were murdered there. Now known as The Murder House, Patrick’s childhood home has been uninhabited for years. It’s unsettling, dated and worn, and gives off an uneasy vibe. Upon moving in, Sarah slowly begins to discover that the Walker family history was riddled with secrets, and the picture of perfection her husband painted, was nothing but a smokescreen designed to disguise those lies. I never trusted Patrick, not for a single second. He was manipulative and rubbed me the wrong way, setting off my creep meter for the entire novel. I thought he was a well-constructed character, even if I didn’t like him! While I never suspected the children of any wrongdoing, I found the daughter was incredibly cruel towards her mother, who was apparently grieving her own mother’s death, battling depression and recovering from an alleged suicide attempt. She blamed her for everything and showed her zero support. Her attitude was horrible and I had a hard time investing in her character and her fate. There were also a few side characters that were weaved into the story to create mystery and to have you continue to question who was responsible for the goings-on- if not a spirit being. I appreciated the role they each played and how they propelled the plot forward, adding to the suspense, but I also found there were a few loose ends when it came to a couple of them. They just sort of dropped off or disappeared with no explanations towards the end. Overall, this was an addictive read and one I would easily recommend to someone looking for a suspenseful thriller chock-full of family drama! Paranormal or psychological thriller? You'll have to read it to find out!

**Complimentary copy for review provided by Grand Central Publishing and Hachette Book Group Canada. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page