top of page

Review (New Release): The Conspiracy by Kat Martin


I finished reading my copy of THE CONSPIRACY last night. It is the first book in Kat Martin's new Maximum Security Series and overall it was a satisfying read.

Continue reading below for the synopsis, purchase link info, and my full review of the story.

About the Book: Harper Winston’s brother has disappeared. Pursuing his dream of sailing the Caribbean, Michael hasn’t responded to texts or emails in days. When even the Coast Guard can’t find him, Harper is forced to take desperate measures. Which means going to Chase Garrett, once her brother’s best friend, now the only man she can trust…or so she hopes. As the successful owner of Maximum Security, Chase has learned to trust his gut. He knows Harper’s father is mixed up in a deadly business, and suspects there’s more to Michael’s disappearance than meets the eye. Getting involved again with the Winstons goes against everything he stands for, yet old loyalties die hard. As the case draws him closer to Harper and deeper into the Winstons’ snarled crime family, he is forced to put everything on the line to keep Harper safe…and both of them alive.

༺❃༻

My Thoughts:

The Conspiracy is the first novel that I have read by Kat Martin and it was an entertaining start to a new series. It's a good mix of romance, mystery, and suspense. When Harper's brother goes missing, she enlists the help of a long time family friend, Chase, to help in tracking Michael down and bringing him home safe. Chase and Harper cwere attracted to each other from the start, and there was a good amount of resistance from both parties. They focused on the search for her brother and did their best not to cross the lines, but it was only a matter of time really. I thought the buildup of tension was done well and I felt the chemistry that they shared, I just didn't become overly invested in the emotional development of their relationship. There was more inner monologue regarding their desires rather than dialogue and openly expressing their feelings, so I think that's what was really missing for me within the romance. I wanted to feel like they were falling in love, but I didn't quite get there. The suspense aspect was interesting, and sort of broken up into two crimes/mysteries that needed to be solved. The first one played out well while the one in the end wrapped up a bit too hastily for my liking. Regardless, I was satisfied with how the story unfolded and I enjoyed the characters enough to be interested in reading the follow up novels in the series- as they are released. If you enjoy romantic suspense that's mildly sexy, try this one out.

**Complimentary copy for review provided by Harlequin Publicity Team. All opinions expressed here are honest and entirely my own.**

If The Conspiracy sounds like a book you'd enjoy and you want to know more about it, you can purchase a copy or read an excerpt here!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page