top of page

Review: The Story of Us by Tara Sivec


Second chance romance is one of my favourite romance tropes, and The Story of Us was a great pick within that trope for me to bring along to read on my sunny vacation in Mexico!

I was entertained by the emotional love story, and I hope if you read more about the book, along with my full review below, you'll be interested enough to check it out yourself. It's always a great feeling, finding a potential new story to love and devour!!

:)

About the Book:

From USA Today bestselling author Tara Sivec comes an emotional, breathtakingly romantic new book about the power of first love and the promise of second chances. How much can a man take before he breaks? 1,843 days. That's how long I survived in that hellhole. They tried to break me, but I resisted. And I owe it all to the memory of warm summer nights, the scent of peaches, and the one woman who loved me more than I ever deserved to be loved. Now, I'll do anything to get back to her. Only Shelby Eubanks isn't the girl I left behind all those years ago. She's someone else, a stranger. My Shelby-my little green-eyed firecracker-would never give up her dreams, would never disappear into her mother's ambitions. But I won't give up on her. On us. I may be broken, and scarred, and not the man I used to be, but I will do whatever it takes to remind her of the story of us.

Where to buy or find out more?

Click here to visit author Tara Sivec's website.

༺❃༻

My Thoughts: The Story of Us is the first book that I have read by Tara Sivec. It was an engaging read with an emotional second chance storyline. The two main characters from two different social standings once fell in love, only to be torn apart. During those 5+ years of separation, Shelby and and Eli each went through life-altering, traumatic ordeals (unbeknownst to the other). I did have to look past some of what the antagonists were able to orchestrate. The amount of power and reach they had was quite difficult to believe. While that element of the plot did not read as plausible to me, the re-connecting of the past lovers is what really held my intrigue. Their emotions and chemistry jumped from the pages. Their struggles and strength, their sacrifices and will to heal their wounds, tugged on my heart. I felt for these characters, and I held onto hope that they would make it together. The Story of Us was an intense and dramatic journey of heartbreak, survival, love, and hopefulness. I read it on a lazy day by the beach and I easily finished the book in just a few short hours. I would gladly recommend this to lovers of angsty second chance love stories, and I'd happily check out past and future work from Ms. Sivec!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page