top of page

Happy Halloween! Check out my Bat-Crispy Treats- Recipe Included


Do you celebrate Halloween in any way?

I love it! It's my favourite holiday next to Christmas. Every year at the beginning of October I decorate inside and outside the house, carve Jack-o-Lanterns, set my DVR to record all the Halloween movies, create a thriller reading list, and I bake, eat and drink all that is pumpkin.

While I now choose to make Paleo eats and treats for myself, my husband and kids love ones made with good ol' flour, milk, butter, and sugar... in moderation of course.

This year I made some scratch 'bat-crispy' treats for them, and even some extra to send with my oldest to school (since they're a nut-free snack).

Those spooky bat treats were a hit with my three boys AND the oldest's classmates! That's a WIN for me :)

The recipe is straight forward and easy and they don't require a ton of work, but if you find yourself short on time, this can also be done quicker using the pre-made packaged Rice Krispie Squares®.

If you're looking for a fun recipe to make for your next Halloween party or your kid's bake sale- or just to make for yourself- check out the recipe below.

***

Bat-Crispy Treats

Ingredients:

1/4 Cup Butter (or margarine)

5 Cups Mini Marshmallows OR 40 Regular Marshmallows, halved

1/2 tsp. Vanilla

6 Cups Crispy Rice Cereal

For the Topping/Decoration:

*Dark Chocolate Flavoured Molding Wafers

*Royal Icing Eyeballs

Directions:

1) Lightly grease a 9x13" baking dish and set aside.

2) In a large saucepan, over low heat, melt the butter (or margarine).

3) Add the marshmallows and stir until melted and blended.

Remove from heat.

4) Stir in vanilla, add cereal, and stir until just coated.

5) Using a lightly buttered spatula, press the mix into the pan.

Leave to cool and set completely.

Using a bat shaped metal cookie cutter, cut out the bat shapes and set then aside on a baking sheet or cooling rack.

Chocolate Top Directions:

Add the molding chocolate to a microwave safe bowl and heat in short intervals, usually around 10-15 seconds each time. Stir between rounds.

It is very important not to overheat the chocolate or the sugar will begin to burn.

Once melted, dip one side of the bat crispy into the chocolate until it's covered and transfer back to the baking sheet or rack.

Add two royal icing eyes.

Once the chocolate hardens they are ready to package, serve, store or eat!

***

If you try it, come back and comment below with your thoughts!

Happy Halloween :)

Colleen

Tags:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page