top of page

Review & Excerpt Tour: Blind Kiss by Renee Carlino


This was my first time reading a Renee Carlino novel and while I thought BLIND KISS started out strong, it didn't finish on a high note for me. I was left feeling unsatisfied. I loved the initial introduction to the characters- Gavin and Penny- and the scenario in which they met. The friendship Carlino then began to develop between them was believable, and you could feel the fun, sweet, and strong bond between them grow. They loved, trusted, and supported each other, this couldn't be denied. The chemistry between the pair and their friendship was what I truly enjoyed in the story. My enjoyment began to waiver as the angst became heavy and there seemed to be a never-ending string of bad decisions and frustrating moments involving Penny and Gavin. While I crave some tension and obstacles to overcome for the MC's, the reasons behind these two friends/lovers(?) separation appeared trivial, and the length of time they were kept apart was exasperating. 14 years apart for no reasonable reason felt like unnecessary torture! Overall, for me, the character conflicts went on for far too long and when things finally began to get sorted out, it felt rushed and over too soon. Personally, I needed more insight into the happier times! You may feel differently, so if you love excessive angst and the friends-to-lovers trope, check Blind Kiss out for yourself.

You can find the synopsis, purchase links and an excerpt from the novel below.

-Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page