top of page

New Release Review: One Small Thing by Erin Watt


One Small thing is an engaging young adult, forbidden romance novel. It’s chock full of angst and drama, a touch emotional, and overall an intense read; definitely not cutesy. I volleyed between two different emotions while reading Beth and Chase’s story- anger and empathy. Beth’s parents made me mad as a hatter. As a parent myself, I can understand their grief and fear, and their need to protect the only child they have left… but these two were over the top with the levels they went to ‘protect’ their daughter. They were unreasonable and smothering. They were failing to let the child they still had actually breathe and LIVE. It wasn’t just them though, it seems most of the adults behavior was unreal. Teachers, parents, counsellors. I was constantly fuming with the adults. Beth was a character I grew to like, but didn’t entirely connect with. She was young, naive, and sometimes hypocritical. I did empathise with her at times, I would likely act out too if I felt as though my parents were suffocating me. I liked that Chase was there to talk things through with her. He gave her sound advice and was a good listener. Chase, he was definitely my favourite character. He was apologetic and remorseful, truly changed. Even though what he had done was an accident, he took responsibility and never made excuses. He was kind, logical, and sweet. He was treated harshly by everyone except Beth, and I couldn’t help but feel compassionate and empathetic towards him. One thing I had trouble with was having Chase (and secondary character, Jeff) returning to highschool after having left three years ago. It was something that seemed pretty far-fetched...like it gave me slight Billy Madison feels. In the real world, someone who is returning to school at the age of 19/20 would likely be completing their GED in an Adult Education facility or training center. Plus, kids in juvie are provided their high school education and although it’s substandard it’s something; it isn’t likely that Chase would have had zero schooling in his three years away. I really had to ignore what would be realistic to accept some things in this novel. I was able to do that to a degree. I did enjoy what happened at the big climax near the end, that was a cool revelation, but the closing of the story left something to be desired. It fell flat, was cut short, and I was very underwhelmed by how it wrapped up. I needed more, and this is one instance where I really wished there were some sort of epilogue. So, there were elements of the story that I enjoyed and some that I didn’t. If you like young adult reads, give it a try. One Small Thing brings you on a journey of grief, forgiveness, and healing.

Interested in checking it out for yourself? Find all the info below.

-Colleen

༺❃༻

Title: One Small Thing

Author: Erin Watt

Genre: YA

Trope: forbidden love

Amazon: http://geni.us/OSTAmz iBooks: http://geni.us/OSTiB Kobo: http://geni.us/OSTKobo Nook: http://geni.us/OSTNook

Beth’s life hasn’t been the same since her sister died. Her parents try to lock her down, believing they can keep her safe by monitoring her every move. When Beth sneaks out to a party one night and meets the new guy in town, Chase, she’s thrilled to make a secret friend. It seems a small thing, just for her. Only Beth doesn’t know how big her secret really is… Fresh out of juvie and determined to start his life over, Chase has demons to face and much to atone for, including his part in the night Beth’s sister died. Beth, who has more reason than anyone to despise him, is willing to give him a second chance. A forbidden romance is the last thing either of them planned for senior year, but the more time they spend together, the deeper their feelings get. Now Beth has a choice to make—follow the rules, or risk tearing everything apart…again.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page