top of page

Release Blitz w/ Review: Sinister Love by T. L. Smith


Review

Overall, I had mixed feelings about Sinister Love. I enjoyed the suspense, but I was not at all interested in the romance aspect.

Ryken is what you would call an ‘anti-hero,’ because there really isn’t anything hero-ish about him. He’s an ahole- an even bigger one in this book than he was in the last- for many reasons. He’s now fully embraced the entire lifestyle his dad lead (which I had hoped he wouldn’t), and the only quality I liked about him was his focus, his fight. He wanted to get his Barbie back. He was going to save her and nobody was going get in his way- or they’d die trying.

Barbie on the other hand, she developed more of a spine in this installment, and I appreciated that about her, but I still didn’t love her. She experienced and witnessed some traumatic things, and her reactions didn’t come across as realistic to me. She pretty much just moved on along.

What I enjoyed about this book was Smith’s story-telling. Love or hate the characters, she does an excellent job building up the suspense and creating mystery. I didn’t see the twist at the end coming. I had the Church Confessor pegged wrong and the reveal took me by surprise!

If dark and gritty with razor sharp edge is your thing, Smith's story will capture you from the start, and hold you captive until the very end.

-Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page