top of page

New Release w/ Review: What He Always Knew by Kandi Steiner

Part two in Kandi Steiner's angsty and emotional duet is now LIVE!

What He Always Knew is a 5 star, MUST read! Grab your copy today.

Find my spoiler free review below.

-Colleen

Review

I crave novels that can reach deep inside and shake you up. Stories and characters that stay in your thoughts well after you've turned the last page. This is one of those stories, and those are the ones I love. What He Always Knew was an addictive page-turner. I read it in one sitting, drinking lots of wine, as a range of emotions fought it out inside me. So. Many. Feelings. Frustration, anger, exasperation Heartache, relief, joy... Just to list a few. I often found myself pleading in my head with Charlie, just to freakin COMMUNICATE what she was feeling to Cameron. Still, she was always expecting and blaming, never asking/telling. She took a long time to admit that while he wasn't there for her, she wasn't for him either. Now on the other side, Cameron could have been asking her what she wanted or needed from him, and he didn't. But, he took some responsibility for the breakdown of their marriage early on, and Charlie did not. They failed each other, it wasn't all one sided. Slowly they begin to open the lines of communication, and Cameron fights hard to win Charlie's heart and trust again. They reveal things to each other, sharing their struggles, frustrations, and sorrows. But Charlie is torn, because there is also Reese who loves her, and she loves him in return. I liked Reese in book one, but I liked him a little less in this one. It's nothing to do with Charlie, he treated her with love and care. He hurt someone else with his love for Charlie. They deserved more from him, especially some respect and honesty. I will not reveal who Charlie chooses, Cameron or Reese, or perhaps even neither. I won't tell you if I was happy with her choice, but I will tell you who I felt she belonged with: Cameron. 100%. Never wavered. But no matter who was chosen, each character experienced the pain of the situation. Charlie, Cameron, Reese, you can find fault in all of them, but you can hate none. They are but three people who were flawed, who made mistakes, and had to find a way to do what felt right and move forward. It wasn't simple, or easy. It was hard and it hurt. Kandi told their story beautifully. Whatever your opinions are on what transpires between the pages of this story, one thing is for certain, it will make you FEEL. This duet as a whole is real and full of raw emotion. It's angsty af, and it will surely leave you with an honest to goodness book hangover. Like, wth do I read next? What will measure up to this? It's only March, but this is already on my top 10 reads of 2018 list, where I'm certain it will stay.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page