top of page

Release Blitz w/ Review: His Brother's Fiancée by Vivian Wood

His Brother's Fiancée is now LIVE!

You can find my full review at the bottom, beneath the blitz info.

Cheers,

Colleen

Review His Brother’s Fiancée was the first book that I read by Vivian Wood. It was a fast-paced, quick, and easy read. I was intrigued by the blurb and the beginning, but by the end, the story was a lackluster read for me. For me, the characters were very one-dimensional. There was a bit of mystery surrounding King’s job and past, but it’s really only touched on lightly, and then nothing more- no other backstory, and I wanted more. But he was strong, broody, protective, and hot, so there's that. He was also very sweet with Effie’s YaYa, making sure she was well taken care of. Effie, was hard for me to connect with at all. I found her character lacked a backbone, and she was very immature, quite easily forgetting her grown-up responsibilities. What did work for me was the chemistry between the characters, and their old feelings coming to life again. Their sex scenes were also quite steamy (although the “shaming” part in the bedroom was not my cup of tea)! The antagonists were both spiteful and manipulative, and there was no reason to attempt to redeem them in my eyes, but the author did try. Effie’s mothers (Carm) actions, verbal abuse, and poor treatment of her daughter can not be justified, and the reason she tried to give Effie for her behavior was flimsy and laughable. Having them reconcile made no sense to me, I wasn’t feeling forgiveness was deserved. The same goes for Thorne. I sympathized with him, only for what he tried to hide his whole life because his parents would not accept him, but again, no excuse for how he was treating Effie and her family, as well as his brother. He was cruel and vindictive. The story wasn’t quite what I was expecting, but check it out for yourself if you’re in the mood for something light and sexy.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page