top of page

Release Blitz w/ Review: What He Doesn't Know by Kandi Steiner

Part one of Kandi Steiner's love-triangle duet is now LIVE!

Find all important information below, including purchase links and my full review.

Have a good day!

-Colleen

Review

What He Doesn’t Know is an intense read that stirred up my emotions. Kandi Steiner grabbed hold of my interest right from the prologue, and from there I was hooked! Her characters had me feeling frustrated one moment, and empathetic in another...and many other feelings in between. The story is told from dual POV (with 1 chapter in a third POV). When seeing things through Charlie’s eyes, I felt for her, I empathized with her, and understood why she felt the way she did. Alone in her marriage; disconnected. Numb, and someone she no longer recognized. When her former love interest and neighbor returns to town after many years, they reconnect, and slide into an easy friendship. But soon lines begin to blur, because old feelings are still there and they quickly begin to intensify. Reese is there for Charlie, when her husband is not. Reese understands her, when she believes her husband no longer does. She feels a part of herself come alive, the woman she once was, returning when she is with him. Reese was a character I grew to love, because when in his POV, we got to see how much he did care for Charlie. He brings her comfort and joy. He listens to her, supports her, and loves her. But I also found myself craving Cameron’s side because, while Charlie was feeling her husband “never asked…,” or “didn’t talk about…,” or “didn’t do,” she never clearly communicated her concerns to him. She had expectations with how he should be without telling him what they were. He never asked her how she felt, but she didn’t ask him either. Kandi Steiner shows us the importance of communication, and it was obvious that this couple stopped doing that years ago. Cameron wasn’t faultless. He wasn’t attentive, he made mistakes, but I still wanted to know, why? Why did he become this person his wife no longer recognized? What was he feeling? What is his side of the story?

“They say there are two sides to every story…. But the one I live inside of? It has three.”

It isn’t until the very end that we get a small glimpse into Cameron’s mind, and I was relieved that we finally did. Overall, I enjoyed the story. It certainly had some curve balls thrown in at the end! I’m looking forward to learning what the future holds for Charlie, Cameron, and Reese in part two! Thankfully, we only have to wait a few weeks!!! In love triangles, people tend to pick a team, and right now I’m #TeamCameron. Let’s see if that changes in What He Always Knew ;)

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page