top of page

Blog Tour w/ Review: The Bitterroot Inn by Devney Perry

Welcome to the blog tour for Devney Perry's newest release in the Jamison Valley Series, The Bitterroot Inn.

Here you'll find my review (located at the bottom), as well as all important information about the book such as the synopsis, purchase links, series links, and author information.

Enjoy!

The Bitterroot Inn is the fifth and final book in the Jamison Valley Series. It was a quick read and had the perfect mix of sweet and swoony. I did feel as though the last major event in the final few chapters was a bit rushed, but overall I was pleased with the way the story wrapped up. The last chapter gave us a little glimpse into the lives of all the characters we have grown to love throughout the series, and it made me smile and warmed my heart! Maisy has been a secondary character throughout the series so it was finally time for her to get her full story told. She has been through a lot and while I don’t think she really dealt with the aftermath of the traumatic events that took place, she stood strong and determined to move forward. I did feel like I wanted a bit more digging into her past, more information about what she went through. Again, you know more if you’ve read the whole series as she has been a secondary character, but if you haven’t and you’re reading this as a standalone, I don’t feel like her past and her insecurities were explored enough. Still, Maisy was a likable character. She was a hardworking, kind woman, and loving mother to her sweet little boy, Coby. She’s left nursing behind to run the small town motel under the new name, The Bitterroot Inn. Hunter shows up in her office one day looking for a room and it’s a moment that leaves Maisy a bit flustered and tongue-tied. Hunter, I thought he was described perfectly well. Strong physique, incredibly handsome. He was sweet and charming, although not very forthcoming with information about himself, his past. But I trusted his character, and so did Maisy. He was protective of her, even before she knew him, and it was a great reveal as to why! Maisy and Hunter were attracted to each other from the start, and they took their time building their relationship. Their intimate times were hot, but there would be this moment in a few of the scenes where Hunter would be all ‘alpha’, and while I find that sexy in certain stories, for me, it didn’t fit him or the tone of this story. It took me out of it momentarily. Hunter also forms an incredible bond with Maisy’s son, Coby. The kindness, patience and respect he shows this little boy was just another reason why his character was worth swooning over. I believe this series of books have been presented as interconnected standalones, meaning that the characters crossover between books but you could read each novel on it’s own without having read the one prior. While this is true for the most part, I personally feel as though The Bitterroot Inn is one that should most definitely be read in order, otherwise a) the very end isn’t as impactful and b) you might feel like some information is lacking as I did. A satisfying end to a captivating series. I recommend you check out The Bitterroot Inn if you’ve read and loved the first four books! If you haven’t read them, I do suggest you go back and start from book one, The Coppersmith Farmhouse. I believe starting from the beginning would give you the best reading experience.

-Colleen, The Book Lover Blog

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page