top of page

Review: STILL MINE by Amy Stuart

Still Mine was mysterious enough to keep my interest, but as I reached the end, the wrap up was just missing something for me. I didn’t feel as though there was a ‘big twist’ or an ‘omg reveal,’ and the very last pages had me scratching my head in confusion… is there going to be another book? I felt like there was still more about Clare, her ex, and entire backstory that still hadn’t been/ needed to be explored.

The supporting characters and residents of small-town Blackmore were interesting, and broken individuals. Each person had been touched in some way not only by the mine collapse and breakdown of the town, but the disappearance of Shayna as well. There was a darkness looming in the town and Ms. Stuart did a fine job setting the eerie atmosphere. Not a single character could be trusted, and even though Clare had been hired/sent by Malcolm to find out what happened to the missing woman, sometimes I felt as though she herself was too messed up to be trusted. She made poor choices and often her emotions were all over the place.

There was one thing that did surprise me in the story, and that was the reveal of who hired Malcolm to investigate the disappearance of Shayna. It caught me by surprise.

The edge of your seat thrill was missing from Still Mine for me, and I still wanted more information at the end BUT, if there is going to be a second book, I would be interested enough to read it.

- Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page