top of page

Review: Highland Wish by Colleen MacGregor


A sweet and intriguing time-travel romance story. Highland Wish is the debut novel by Colleen MacGregor. Kate is in Scotland to celebrate the wedding of one of her girlfriends. After making a wish for love, she wakes up in a forest, in a place and time she doesn’t know. Her and Angus share an immediate connection when their paths cross, but their romance or courtship doesn’t come without a lot of back and forth banter- and a fight for her hand. Both of the main characters were likable. Kate (or Katherine) was strong, intelligent and feisty. She very easily accepted her predicament, going backwards centuries in time, but I felt okay with her acceptance. She must have sensed as though she belonged there, and as the story moved forward, I believed it too. Angus was large, strong, confident and booming. He had a protective way when it came to Kate and you knew without his saying that he grew to care deeply for her. These two people from two different centuries, fit so well together. As I read I hoped that Kate would want to stay in this time, finding her home in Scotland. I loved the push and pull between Angus and Kate, and their chemistry was great, but I would have liked just a few more, longer scenes of them together. The ending was one to smile about, but it felt cut short. If this is to be the end of their story, as a reader I felt as though an epilogue was needed. If their story is to continue in a second book, I would have liked a ‘wait for the rest of Angus and Kate’s story in book two,’ sort of message at the end. I did notice that other characters were often compared to an A-List actor, rather than described. Examples: Secondary characters were said to ‘look like’ or ‘remind’ the heroine of Keira Knightley, Angelina Jolie, a Kardashian, David Gandy, and two separate characters shared the likeness of Chris Hemsworth. I would have preferred the details rather than so many lookalike comparisons, but that is just me. Overall, an enjoyable read. If there is more to come from this series, I will definitely check it out.

-Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page