top of page

Review: Enchant by Micalea Smeltzer

I don’t read a lot of fantasy or paranormal romance, but the blurb for Enchant intrigued me. I’m glad that I read it, because it turned out to be an interesting, sweet and magical read. Mara has lived her whole life in the human world, believing she is human, being raised by a human. She has no clue that she is really an enchanter- and a ‘Chosen One’ at that- until her life is endangered just shy of her eighteenth birthday and she is whisked away by her protector, Theodore. There were parts to Mara’s character that I did like- her strength, independence and determination- but when it came to her actions I found them to be less than believable at times. I felt as though she had very limited emotional reactions to such big changes in her life. She finds out she’s got magic within her and people are coming after her to kill her, and she barely bats an eyelash. She just trusts Theo, asks a few questions here and there, and that’s it. Theo was made to be Mara’s Protector. He’s tied to her. He stressed how important it was to always know where she was, for the sake of protecting her, and he took his job seriously. I thought that Mara and Theo had a good love-hate sort of relationship. The friendship they built felt real and believable and I loved their banter. They pushed each others’ buttons, but at the same time you could sense the attraction and deep feelings growing between them. This is the first novel that I have read by Micalea Smeltzer and aside from a few minor things, I really enjoyed it. There was a good mix of fantasy, action, suspense and romance. I look forward to reading book two, especially after that cliff-hanger ending!

-Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page