top of page

Cover Reveal & Release Blitz w/ Review: Checkmate: This is Dangerous & This is Love, Boxed S


Reviews

Book One: This is Dangerous

I loved the start to Logan and Kayla’s story. This is Dangerous kept me glued to my device from start to finish and left me craving (shouting) for more!

Kayla is a sweet, caring and compassionate woman with a heart of gold. She loves animals and wants to do anything that she can to ensure they feel loved and protected. I share her love of animals and I studied Animal Welfare in college and worked in a Veterinary Hospital, so I really connected to her character.

Logan is a bit mysterious and guarded. He keeps Kayla a safe distance away and as the story unfolds we learn a few reasons why he feels as though Kayla should be with someone other than him. But no matter how hard he tries to fight it, the pull towards her is too strong. He cares for Kayla, he wants to be there for her and to protect her, and once he gives into his desires, the chemistry they create is explosive! HOT!

But just when you think these two lovers could finally be on the good path to happiness, Kennedy Fox blows those hopes and happy thoughts up with the cliff-hanger! Find out exactly what’s in store for Logan and Kayla in Part Two, This is Beautiful.

Book Two: This is Beautiful

This is Beautiful is the conclusion to Logan and Kayla’s story. It’s a quick read with a few cute and sexy moments, plus some entertaining and fun times, compliments of the beloved secondary characters who make a few memorable appearances.

In This is Dangerous, I adored Logan and Kayla together. Logan had been trying his best to stay away from Kayla, but eventually the pull was too strong. Their chemistry was real and hot, and the love that grew between them shone brightly.

With This is Beautiful, I suppose you could say that it didn’t evoke the emotional responses within me that I was hoping for or had expected. For me, the element of surprise was missing, and it didn’t give me ‘all the feels.’ I wasn’t ‘shipping’ #Layla so hard this time. BUT …

While I felt disconnected at times when it came to the couple, I had all the love for Logan himself. He had finally found someone to love endlessly, and that happiness was quickly snatched away. He vowed to fight to win Kayla’s heart back, just like she had fought for him the first time around. He remained the sweet, swoony, kind and patient man we had come to know, and I loved how he didn’t push Kayla beyond her comfort zone, ever. He was a great lead character, and I just wanted him to be happy, whatever that meant for him in the end.

As I flipped the final page of This is Beautiful, I felt content. Satisfied with the conclusion to a great series. If you’re in the mood for a second-chance romance with a hero that will make you smile and sigh dreamily, #Layla’s duet is a good choice! Plus, dogs and donuts, who doesn’t smile about that!?

-Colleen, The Book Lover Blog

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page