top of page

Release Blitz w/ Review: Lost Before You by Brooke O'Brian


Review

Lost Before You is the second novel in the inter-connected standalone series, Heart’s Compass, and the first I have read by Brooke O’Brian. I liked the story, there were some positive qualities, but I didn’t completely fall in love with it.

Mason and Brea are best friends. When Brea asks him for one night, no strings, and a promise that their friendship won’t change, you know right then and there she’s a fool to even think things would be the same and Mason knows it too. Mason is a likable leading man; he’s protective, sweet, honest, and the kind of guy who will make your heart beat a little faster. It’s obvious that his friendship with Brea is very important to him and at the same time you can tell it’s also so much more than “just friends” even before the night that does indeed, change everything.

Unfortunately, I just wasn’t exceptionally fond of Brea. I didn’t quite get her rational behind some of her choices and there was a time I wanted to just knock her upside the head in frustration. Their changing relationship was believable, and they had nice chemistry. It was my connection to her character that was lacking, therefore detracting from my overall enjoyment of the story. I also skim read over some bits, as I found the pacing was a bit slow at times. I’m not a huge fan of repeating part of the story/conversations when switching the POV and that was done in some chapters.

For me this was a decent read. It’s cute with a hot hero and it was nice getting lost in a book for a little while. It’s a pleasant friends-to-lovers romance and a quick read that I’m sure many will love, it just missed the mark for me personally.

-Colleen, The Book Lover Blog

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page