top of page

Release Blitz w/ Review: Checkmate: This is Beautiful by Kennedy Fox


This is a bittersweet moment, as I type up my final review for the Checkmate Series. I’m sad that it has come to an end, but knowing that the next series is surrounding Courtney’s brothers, has me feeling hopeful that this isn’t the last we’ll see of some characters we’ve grown to adore. This is Beautiful is the conclusion to Logan and Kayla’s story. It’s a quick read with a few cute and sexy moments, plus some entertaining and fun times, compliments of the beloved secondary characters who make a few memorable appearances. In This is Dangerous, I adored Logan and Kayla together. Logan had been trying his best to stay away from Kayla, but eventually the pull was too strong. Their chemistry was real and hot, and the love that grew between them shone brightly. This is Beautiful begins right where TID left off. I suppose you could say that TIB didn’t evoke the emotional responses within me that I was hoping for or had expected. For me, the element of surprise was missing, and it didn’t give me ‘all the feels.’ I wasn’t ‘shipping’ #Layla so hard this time. BUT … While I felt disconnected at times when it came to the couple, I had all the love for Logan himself. He had finally found someone to love endlessly, and that happiness was quickly snatched away. He vowed to fight to win Kayla’s heart back, just like she had fought for him the first time around. He remained the sweet, swoony, kind and patient man we had come to know, and I loved how he didn’t push Kayla beyond her comfort zone, ever. He was a great lead character, and I just wanted him to be happy, whatever that meant for him in the end. Will Logan get Kayla to fall in love with him again? Will #TeamLayla get their second-chance, or go their separate ways? Will Kayla ever get her memory back? Will you be hungry while reading This is Beautiful, just like you were while reading the last few books in the series? This is the only question I’ll answer now, as you’ll have to grab your own copy of the book to figure out the rest. So, yes. The mention of blueberry muffins, pies, donuts and pumpkin spice lattes had my sweet craving running high and my stomach grumbling. Best be prepared. Buy. Donuts. I started and finished This is Beautiful all in the same day, and after I flipped the last page I was content. Satisfied with the conclusion to a great series. If you’re in the mood for a second chance romance with a hero that will make you sigh dreamily, this is a good choice! Plus, dogs and donuts, who doesn’t smile about that!?

-Colleen, The Book Lover Blog

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page