top of page

Blog Tour: "Into Wonderland," by R. L. Weeks


Title: Into Wonderland

Author: R L. Weeks

Series: Haunting Fairy Tales Book #3

Release Date: 04 February 2017

BLURB

R. l. Weeks brings you Into Wonderland, a part of the award-winning standalone series.

Wendy, Alice's sister, disappeared to Neverland years ago. Alice has been looking for her and has finally found a way there. However, Neverland has warped into Wonderland and Snow became its Queen of Hearts.

Alice travels with Robin who is looking for the sword of souls, which is kept in Wonderland so he can use it on the immortal Clarissa who took his forest and men from him.

They both make it to Wonderland but it's not as wonderful as the stories made out. The Hatter is crazy, the Queen's pet cat is a double agent, Wendy is a mouse, and the world has gone mad.

Alice is made into a figurehead by the rebels who want to take out the Queen of Hearts and have the White Queen put onto the throne.

Alice and Robin carry out a plot against the Queen and befriend her at her castle, but they must be careful. If the truth is discovered, then it will have disastrous consequences on her sister, friends, and the rest of Wonderland.

*Read it as a standalone or as part of the series.

PURCHASE LINK

Get Into Wonderland for the discounted release price of $2.99 on Kindle

Paperbacks are on sale for $9.99 too. Kindle and Amazon:

hyperurl.co/glnj3g

Release Party Event

Join the event and giveaway here to win a $100 gift card:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1453623588000813/

AUTHOR BIO

R. l. Weeks lives in Bradworthy, a small, charming village in North Devon. When she's not writing, she's designing covers, shopping, or reading.

Her Haunting Fairytales Series, published by Vamptasy, was voted Best Fairytale Books 2016 by Reality Bites Magazine.

Books 1, 2 & 3 are available on Kindle and Amazon now.

As well as writing Fairytales, R. l. Weeks enjoys writing horror, with Stephen King being her inspiration. You can find her gripping horror stories on Kindle.

R. l is also one of the six Graveyard Writers. www.graveyardwriters.com

Want to find out more? Go to her website

www.authorrlweeks.com

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR

Q. Tell us about yourself and how many books you have written.

A. I am a fantasy and horror author. I live in Bradworthy, a

charming village in North Devon, UK.

My love of fairytales, fantasy, and horror, inspired me to write my own stories. I was always described as 'being off with the fairies' but I put it to

good use and incorporate my love of history into my tales, too.

I want to write novels to inspire and help young people in the same way

that fantasy books helped me. Horror is a genre that I want to bring

people back too. *'It's such a deep genre. It's so much more than just scaring people, it

gives them a sense of empowerment. I'm obsessed with the reality of the

human condition and the darker shades of humanity. I try to tell my stories from a different viewpoint.'*

I love writing fairytales as I want to show people what happens after

the happily ever afters and put a realistic spin on our favourite

childhood classics.

Q. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

A. I am usually in my pyjamas when I am writing. I sit at my laptop (on my bed), put on some music and turn off my internet. Then I just write. I have many cups of tea and I stop and have little five minute breaks every hour.

Q. What authors, or books, have influenced you?

A. I always had an interest in the written word since I was four. I used to read so much, mainly fiction. The first books I read were by Enid Blyton, but it was the Harry Potter books that spiked my interest in fantasy books. The unique storyline and otherworldliness attracted me. Since then, Stephen King’s novels made me want to write horror. The feelings after reading one of his books with different to any other feeling I got from other genres.

Q. What are you working on now?

A. I’m currently working on book four in the Haunting Fairytales Series. Wicked Witch, which takes the characters to the land of Oz where the Wicked Witch, Eve, is collecting the world’s most evil fairytale characters for an epic battle.

Q. What is your best method or website when it comes to promoting your books?

A. What a great question. The answer varies depending on what I am trying to gain, whether it’s exposure, sales, new readers, interviews, guest posts, etc. For exposure and to help my books reach a wider audience I find that Twitter ads are excellent, along with Facebook posts and groups.

I have a newsletter and offer giveaways and exclusive peeks at upcoming works before any one, for those who sign up. I think it’s a great way to give something back to my readers and let them join in with the magic of the series while book three is being written.

Q. Do you have any advice for new authors?

A. Yes. I was told my other authors when I began writing to make sure everything I did was well edited and I took my time with. My advice would be not to rush your book just because you want to get it out there. Make sure you have an amazing cover to represent your work and make sure it is edited well. We all make mistakes when we write, but it’s important to get them smoothed out before the final document is uploaded. Also, do your research on marketing websites, follow other authors and see what they are doing, and read! Reading helps inspire and helps us develop our own unique writing style.

Q. What is the best advice you have heard?

A. As above, to take things slow and make sure that you put out the best book you can. To make sure that you have everything prepared beforehand.

Q. What are you reading now?

A. I am currently reading The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory.

Q. What’s next for you as a writer?

A. I would like to continue to write my fairytales and horror stories. I do have some works in progress which I would like to finish by next year.

Q. What is your favourite book of all time?

A. It may sound clichéd, but it would the Harry Potter series, namely Deathly Hallows. I have read it over and over again. I love the magic, the morals, just the world she created. Harry Potter is a massive part of my childhood, so I guess it takes me back to my younger years when I read them. I just feel closer to magic when I pick up one of the HP books.

✯ ☆҉‿➹⁀☆҉☆ ✯ ☆҉‿➹⁀☆҉☆

MY REVIEW

Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite stories. RL Weeks has taken the beloved tale and put her own unique and creative spin on it. Into wonderland was an enjoyable read full of twists, turns, and great adventure. If you are a big fan of Alice like I am, you will be delighted to find that Weeks has included some of the popular and well known quotes in her novel, such as “curiouser and curiouser,” and “we’re all mad here.”

If you have not read books 1 and 2 in the series, that is fine, this can be read as a standalone. But like the first two novels in the series, Weeks can intertwine stories and crossover the characters from different Fairy Tales and it all works. This novel does centre around the characters from Wonderland, but it also includes The Pied Piper, Peter Pan, Rumpelstiltskin, The Ugly Duckling and a few more.

Into Wonderland is a dark and twisty fairy tale, I enjoyed it from start to finish. Book four will be taking us to the Land of Oz and I’m very much looking forward to reading it!

- Colleen, The Book Lover blog

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page