top of page

Review: "Breaking Lucas," by Amanda Kaitlyn

This is the second book in The Beautifully Broken Series, and the second book that I have read by Amanda Kaitlyn. It is suggested by the author to read the series in order for best reading experience, and I would have to agree. If you read Breaking Beautiful (book one), you’ve already been introduced to Kaelyn and Lucas, who were secondary characters. Now they’ve been given their own story, and it’s one that has many ups and downs along the way.

Breaking Lucas had many inconsistencies within the timeline, and the back and forth between past and present caused for some confusion. This brought me out of the story, and had me feeling disconnected from the characters.

Also, for me, the research surrounding Lucas’ cancer was lacking. I.e. type of cancer, the rate and area in which it spreads and the prognosis or typical survival rate. So, while this was a part of the story that could feel very heart breaking, real and relatable to some, I found the information provided within the story had me questioning the believability of the scenario.

While there were some good elements to this book, there wasn’t enough for me to invest in the characters or their journey. The plotline holes, and change in tense distracted me, thus affecting my overall enjoyment of the story.

-Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page