top of page

Review: "Written in the Scars," by Adriana Locke

This is my first read by Adriana Locke and boy did she deliver the feels! I’ve just been on a super emotional and angsty ride! The story was captivating; I read it in two sittings. I may have lost a couple hours of sleep but I just HAD to know how everything turned out. What I find rather refreshing is that Ms Locke has written- quite beautifully I might add- a story with characters that are very real and relatable. While once a blissfully happy couple, the main characters' (Elin and Ty) marriage is currently in crisis. They have made bad decisions along the way, they both share regrets but what they have to decide now is “do we fight for us, or give up because it’s tough?” “Life isn’t easy; love isn’t for the faint of heart. You just have to put your fears aside and go for it.”

There are also some wonderful supporting characters. Elin and Ty’s friends and family are always there for support, to lend an ear and to remind them not to give up even when things are hard. Through Elin and Ty’s journey, we are witness to their love and we see their determination and their fight to make things work. Life isn’t easy, everything is not rainbows and butterflies and happily ever after. We are presented with real day to day problems that you or I as readers could face.

“Scars stick around to prove that you showed up for life. That you lived. That you fought. That you loved.”

This is a touching story of love, family, friendship and redemption. It will truly make you appreciate the little things in life. Well done Ms Locke, I look forward to reading more of your work.

- Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page