top of page

Review: TWILIGHT by Stephenie Meyer

There are a couple reasons why this book- and entire saga- is not for me. 1. Personally, I really cannot stomach dull, whiny and dependent heroines- See Bella. Bella has a pathetic obsession with Edward. She acts as if she needs him to live and breathe, like she could not go on and would literally die without him. Like without Edward she is nothing. In fact, she seems to have no ambitions beyond being with Edward. 2. I am totally on board with Alpha male heroes who are strong and protective. However, I found Edward to be more along the lines of an obsessive stalker. He sneaks into her room, watches her sleep, follows her around, shows up where she is etc. So regarding the romantic aspect of this novel, the message it sends to young girls really irked me. Bella and Edward's relationship is not romantic. "If the boy leaves you, your life is over." This is how Bella acted. Edward's obsessive behavior is not okay. Their relationship is definitely not one to fantasize about or aspire to have- it's not healthy. Ms Meyer has created a fantastical world of vampires, humans and werewolves. Unfortunately, the "romance" and main characters made me feel way too angry and frustrated. Needless to say, this was not a book that I enjoyed. I did read the whole saga to form an overall opinion on it. In fact, I actually read it twice, once as a teenager (where I thought, hmm, minus the romance and whiny heroine, it's an okay fantasy series) and once as an adult (opinion-see above review lol). Therefore, I'd give the entire Saga a pass.

- Colleen

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page