top of page

Review: Best Laid Plans by L. K. Farlow


About the Book:

*Synopsis as found on Goodreads

The summer before my senior year of high school I had only one goal: to make Alden Warner see me as more than his best friend's annoying little sister.

Finally, my wish came true and he noticed me. In a big way. Too bad that the next morning he had no memory of our night together, leaving me heartbroken, and as I later discovered...pregnant.

For the last four years, I've been rocking the single mom thing, making sure my daughter comes first. In fact, everything is going fine--until Alden storms back into my life, as my new boss.

His reappearance wasn't something I planned for. Add my nosy, meddlesome three-year-old and an overprotective brother, and I'm obviously in way over my head.

My only hope now is that I can sway Alden to see things my way...but you know what they say about the best laid plans...

Review:

There were multiple elements of this novel that just didn't work for me. First, the secret baby trope is not my favourite, but I can stomach it if the circumstances for withholding the information are justified in some way. Such was not the case here. Natalie's reasons for withholding this secret for 4 years were flimsy at best. Next, the main characters were difficult to connect with both individually and as a couple. Natalie and Alden did not have charisma or share charmingly witty banter. More often than not I was frustrated with both characters so I never felt the passion build with them. I found Natalie to be a weak character, and Alden was jerky enough to turn me off at times. Plus, I found the voice of his character read very feminine. Both characters could have used further depth, development, and fine-tuning. All in all, this story just wasn't my cup of tea. Having issue with the trope, plot, characters, and overall execution didn't make for a satisfying reading experience.

Best Laid Plans was my introduction to L. K. Farlow and though it didn't leave a lasting impression, I would still be willing to give the authors work another shot in the future.

If you would like to check the book out for yourself, visit the author's website by clicking here.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page